LIVESTRONG® LS6.0R Recumbent Bike Reviews

LIVESTRONG® LS6.0R Recumbent Bike
11 reviews

nordster (Cedar Falls, IA)

07/17/2013

Great Bike, Terrible Seat Design

I have owned this bike for 2 years now and use it daily. Unfortunately today the back rest broke. The back rest is held in place with metal plates that sandwich the plastic structural element that makes up the back support. The metal plates did their job, however the plastic broke all around the plates. Obviously it had been breaking for some time. The plastic frame was used to allow some flexibility for the back rest. However, as the plastic has aged, it has become brittle. If this part could be re-engineered so that the frame for the mesh remained plastic and the structural member for the back support was made of metal it would probably reduce the possibility of this breaking. So if your backrest starts to become a little too flexible, you may want to check this out.

On the positive side, customer service is sending me out a new seat back for around $150.00. The rest of the bike is perfect.


dbabb (The Villages, FL)

07/16/2013

Greatest Exercise Bike Ever!!

This is a great exercise bike - smooth mechanism, seat back is very comfortable, user friendly operation. Feels like a well-built machine - solid. Would definitely recommend this bike to any home exerciser!!


Jim (Hudson, NH)

05/26/2013

Good Bike - Bad Seat Back

We purchased this bike and the only complaint is that we have had to replace the seat back twice in 6 weeks. The seat back has ripped twice in the same area. The bike itself is great, very quiet and offers challenging exercises to all levels. The speakers and line in were one of the options that moved us to buy this product. The design of the seat back needs to be addressed for this product to get rave reviews.


CWilhite (Louisa, KY)

04/19/2013

Almost Perfect

I've owned this bike for 6 months. Overall, it's great. I love the programming options and it's very comfortable to use. My only problem so far is the back rest netting. Staples started popping out causing the material to come undone. It's impossible to use the backrest without this netting. Of course you still have the option to use it sitting fully upright but that defeats my purpose of having a recumbent bike, it allows me to cycle even with my back issues. I called the "no sweat protection plan" people and they say they will have someone call within two days to schedule an in home visit to repair the backrest. If it's fixed properly and doesn't happen again then I can say it's worth 5 stars. Overall, I would recommend this bike to anyone, especially if you have back issues that would otherwise pose a challenge to cycling.


Russ (Whitehall, MI)

02/23/2013

Excellent!!

nice ride! settings are easy, so far the seat netting has held up as of this review. would have liked a better place to mount ipod but Velcro is a good work around. Must do miles!!!


Tony Paterno (Annapolis, MD)

01/27/2013

Superb Bike

2 months of using the LS6.0R exercise bike and enjoying every work out. It's buuilt solid, operates smoothly, and comes with a good varierty of programs. So far my wife and I can't find anything wrong with it!


Mike (Sterling Heights, MI)

01/22/2013

Solid Bike

We received the 6.0 R as a Christmas gift from our kids. I had seen the bike on display at Dicks and really liked how it felt. My wife and I assembled the bike in 90 minutes using only the 2 tools that came with it. The instructions were well written and the predrilled holes all aligned nicely. The bike is very solid and very quiet. I would strongly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a health club quality machine at a fair price.


Jer (Lees Summit, MO)

12/01/2012

knock, knock

This unit developed a knocking sound inside the enclosed pedal area about two months after we received it. I haven't disassembled it yet to find the problem. It is irritating to spend this much money on something and have to disassemble it less than a year of purchase.
Other than that, I think it has more thoughtful features and a sleek design (recumbent is the way to go on exercise units). The seat is not as comfortable as I had hoped, but it is cooler than a solid back that the other models tested had.


Dr Dan (Gates Mills, OH)

11/30/2012

Very good, BUT

Upholstry on the backrest coming un-done.
How to use the computer updates opaque and did not make it work.
No mechanical problems with the drive train.
Overall meets but does not exceed myy goals.


rugger (pownal, ME)

09/08/2012

nice option

wouldn't really call it recumbent, more of a vertical posture. important to me because chemo therapy gave me anal fissures androids, so my bum is very tender regardless, was able to do 45 min workout to keep up strength ahead of upcoming surgery, my wife did most of the assembly, good assembly instructions. I may try to bend seat bracket to get more of a recline posture


Carolyn

05/21/2012

Nice machine in general

I have had this bike for about 6 months now. It's comfortable and there are more features on it than I really use. The seat slides forward and backward well enough to match my height (5'6") as well my boyfriend's (6'1"). The display works well, but be forewarned- it counts up, not down, so if you are one to see how much time you have left be prepared to do some math!

The other thing I like about it is the built-in speakers. It's handy to be able to plug the music into the machine and fiddle with it there than to have to have a separate system not on the bike and be forced to work through a bad song or stop the workout to change it.

The only real downside to the bike is the size of the seat back. It seams that it's really a "one size fits all" seatback height, which means it's really best for someone bigger than I am. It's not too much of a problem, but can get tiresome during the last minutes of a longer workout. It would be nicer if the seatback height could be adjusted as well as the seat bottom slides.